Records Set At The DHRA Indiana Diesel Nationals

[ 0 ] July 10, 2006 |

Redkey, IN (June 29, 2006)– Exhaust still lingers at O’Reilly Raceway Park as the Diesel Hot Rod Association’s (DHRA) Indiana Diesel Nationals comes to an early close due to rain, but not before old records were broken and new ones set. On Saturday, nearly 4,000 attendees witnessed some of the best diesel racers show off everything their diesels can do — on and off the track. As fans entered the park gates, they were surrounded by everything diesel. From the parking lot to the drag strip, diesel heads came together to celebrate the growing sport combined with a little friendly competition.

To get the day going, Eric McBride, DHRA CEO, announced the winner of the first “Do-My-Diesel” raffle. Vendors from across the area collectively contributed $15,000 worth of modifications to be installed onsite during the weekend, sending Shawn Hodges of Townville, Pennsylvania home in an impressive tricked-out 2004.5 Dodge Dually. Spectators also enjoyed watching as Richard Brown took over the Dyno competition with an amazing 826.3 horsepower. Clinton Curtis left passersby in a cloud of smoke as he showed everyone what diesels are made of in the Burnout Competition, taking home the first place prize.

Hodges was not the only diesel lover putting his truck on display for the weekend. The Show ‘N’ Shine competition attracted serious stares as people strolled through, admiring the newest technologies and latest trends in the diesel world from extreme lifts to a truck bed that detaches from the cab with the touch of the key fob. It was no shock that the truck entered by Jerry Harding took home the awards for Best Duramax and Best in Show with his 2005 Chevy 2500HD 4×4 featuring a 12″ air lift. The honor of Best Power Stroke goes to Joe Marshall, while Scott Williams earned Best Cummins, and Mark Buskovitz won Best Work Truck.

While contests were taking place in the vendor midway, 80 participants were lining the dirt track, awaiting their chance to prove themselves and their trucks in the Sled Pull competition. After many admirable attempts, only four won the rights to be called “The Best.” Ari Squire took first in the Work Stock Class, with a distance of 272.46 feet, Robert Miller won the Street Diesel Class with a distance of 284.66 feet, Craig Severson won the Super Street Class with an impressive 292.12 feet, and Christopher Watson took home the trophy for the Modified Class, pulling 291.32 feet.

Despite interrupting the Pro Diesel Series, the rain never dampened the spirits of the 103 racers that entered the competition. While the race couldn’t be completed, some drove away winners and some drove away as record setters. Karl Mireiter took a first place finish in the Quick Diesel class while Phillip Palmer of Stuckey Racing set a National MPH Record of crossing the finish line at 139.1 mph. Last year’s series champion, Darren Morrison also had an impressive race, crossing the line with a new track record of 10.26 in his Pro Street Dodge.

The DHRA hosts a series of National events, with the Texas Diesel Nationals in Houston on October 14-15. For more information about the Indiana and Texas Nationals, DHRA, and all its events, please visit:

Tags: Diesel, Racing

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...



Category: News